Designed to encourage a deep understanding of essential knowledge, skills and behaviours. 

The college curriculum, based in the Victorian Essential Learning Standards (VELS), is used to plan student learning, assess student progress and report to parents. 

There are three core interrelated strands: Physical, Personal and Social Learning Knowledge, skills and behaviours related to being active and healthy, developing self-confidence, managing personal learning and working with others 

Discipline-Based Learning 
Essential knowledge and skills in each specialised Learning Area (listed below)

Interdisciplinary Learning
Essential skills that are applied across the curriculum such as thinking, design, problem solving, communication and using information and communications technology.

The curriculum is organised into seven Learning Areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • The Humanities (Economics, Geography, History)
  • The Arts
  • Design, Creativity and Technology
  • Health and Physical Education

A Curriculum Manager oversees each of these Learning Areas.

A fortnightly timetable operates across the College.

Whittlesea Secondary College aims to equip students for an ever-changing world. Together we will challenge students to gain personal, social and academic skills that will inspire them to be successful members of our global community.